Skincare during pregnancy

I would like to share with you my skincare routine during pregnancy, which did not radically change after delivery, so if you are expecting or even just want to have a more natural approach to your skin care, I hope you will find some interesting points below.

When I found out that I was pregnant, I starting documenting myself about beauty products that are safe during pregnancy. I was overwhelmed by the number of forbidden ingredients in beauty products and I became desperate that I cannot use anything without affecting my baby. After the shock had passed and I did a lot of research, I managed to find adequate products.

Face care:

Before pregnancy I had acne-prone combination skin and my best friend was Salicylic Acid, which was part of my face wash, toner, moisturizer, face mask and local spot treatment, and I was happy to reach a point when I had my break-outs under control. So my biggest concern was that I would start having too many break-outs, as Salicylic Acid together with all other anti-acne substances I tried in the past were forbidden.

My revised face care routine started with a foam cleanser for sensitive skin, in the morning applied with my fingers and in the evening with my Clarisonic Mia. I did not use a toner every day, just because I kept forgetting. The brand I used and still use is CV (an own brand from a local drugstore in Austria – Müller).

As local spot treatment, I used Tea Tree essential oil, which most sources say is safe in pregnancy in moderate amounts. I easily applied it with a cotton swab.

When it came to moisturizer, I did a lot of reading and decided to try Jojoba oil. It is a product raved by some and criticized by others when it comes to acne-prone skin, but in my case it worked great. Basically what it does is to purify the skin from the inside-out, so it may happen that in the first 1-2 weeks of use, you get more break-outs than usual, at which point a lot of people give up. It is also the oil that has the composition most similar to the skin’s natural oils, so it helps balance your skin, by telling it that there is no need to produce extra oils. I started using it every night, instead of my regular moisturizer, and did not see a huge increase in break-outs. After a month of use, I already noticed that at the end of the day my skin was not as oily as it was before.

However, in the morning you cannot use Jojoba oil as a makeup base, as everything will slide away. I decided to use a moisturizer with SPF 50, as sunscreen is anyway a must when you are pregnant (even in winter). What I used was from Hildegard Braukmann, which was ok, but I cannot say it was much different from other sunscreens I used in the past.

I used the same eye cream both mornings and evenings, my favorite was Clinique All About Eyes.

Once a week I would use a scrub and a face mask with charcoal in order to control my acne. When it comes to a great value-for-money, St. Ives face scrub is my no.1, but my favorite was the Origins Modern Friction. The face mask I used was the Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask, which really helped purify my skin. I continue to use these products today and I really enjoy them.

When it comes to makeup, my routine did not change, as the moisturizer acted as a protective barrier, but I tried to avoid wearing foundation every day. I used a natural face powder from Sante (also a brand available in Austria), which was ok, but nothing impressive. As makeup remover, I always used the Bioderma Sensibio H2O.

Body care:

When it comes to shower gels, I tried to use a natural brand, such as Weleda or Terra Naturi, which are available in Austria, but you can use almost anything which is recommended for sensitive skin, even unscented ones, especially if certain smells make you feel nauseous. Another option is to use baby products, as what is safe for a newborn is also safe for a pregnant mother, so there are plenty of choices.

Once a week I would use a body scrub. I really like the scrubs from The Body Shop, which last me a really long time. As I liked the smell of chocolate, I stocked up on the Chocomania scrub, which was limited edition.

As body moisturizer, the one I swear by is Almond oil, I used it every day, without exception, and I did not get any stretch marks, even though I had a HUGE belly with my 20+ kg I gained during pregnancy. There are a lot of dedicated moisturizers on the market, and I liked the Palmer’s Cocoa Butter lotion, but I still think that Almond oil is the best.

Sunscreen is a must also for the body to avoid (extra) skin pigmentation. I used one suitable for kids, with an SPF 30 on the areas that were exposed to sunlight. I also avoided long exposures to the sun, so when I was at the seaside, I only stayed under the umbrella.

I hope this information helps you!

What skincare products do you enjoy using?

Leave a Reply

