Zoeva Eye Brushes Review

I confess that I found out about Zoeva brushes at a time when their Youtube rave-wave was starting to fade.

I was shopping online for beauty products (currently the easiest way for me, as carrying a baby stroller through Douglas – a chain similar to Sephora – can be quite stressful), when I also looked at the brushes section and noticed one brand I never heard about: Zoeva. I was curious, they looked really nice and had good reviews on the site, but of course I wanted to do my own research and was surprised to see a lot of very good reviews, comparisons to MAC or Sigma, but at a much lower cost. I wanted to try all the brushes that appealed to me, and not limit myself to the pre-selected brushes in an eye brush set. My problem was that I could not find reviews for all specific brushes I wanted, so I am writing this post for all those that want to buy “single” eye brushes from Zoeva 🙂

Zoeva 221 Luxe Soft Crease is a really good brush for blending your shadows or for applying a transition color above the crease color. It makes me think about the MAC 224 brush, which I wanted to buy but now I am happy I didn’t, as this brush does its job very well at a fraction of the cost!

Zoeva_221 Luxe Soft Crease

Zoeva 226 Smudger was the brush I was most curious about, as in the past all those smudging tools that come with eyeliner pencils made my life very difficult and made me doubt my mekeup skills 😀 I was either very unlucky with the pencils I chose, or those applicators really were worthless. When I first tried this brush I was amazed of how easy it was to get that smudged look. Definitely recommend it!

Zoeva_226 Smudger

Zoeva 227 Luxe Soft Definer reminded me in photos of MAC 217, my first brush ever from MAC which I love and use every single day. I bought it just to see if it compares, and I can say that I like it even more, as I think the hairs are softer and easier to work with on my eyes. I used it with the flat part in a horizontal position to apply my crease color and then turned it vertically to blend the colors out. If you only want one brush out of the 227 and the 221 brushes, I would suggest this one, as it is multi-purpose. If you already have the MAC 217, then you might want to try the 221 blending brush instead 😉

Zoeva_227 Luxe Soft DefinerZoeva 230 Luxe Pencil was a brush I had large expectations for as I read some nice reviews, but I liked it the least. I barely took it out of the packaging and it started to shed not 1 but 3 hairs! Maybe I got a faulty one, but I am thinking about returning it. When it comes to application, it was ok for highlighting with precision the inner corner of the eye, but nothing impressive (ok, maybe I was biased by the 4th hair falling on my face!).

Zoeva_230 Luxe Pencil

Zoeva 231 Luxe Petit Crease is a nice brush, but it takes some time getting used to. I was using a blunt pencil brush for my outer V, so this brush was a little too precise, and due to its shape it was pretty easy to go too far in the inner half of the eye. Also, given the very fine tip, you get from the very beginning a very intense color, so it’s a good idea to use a lighter hand at first. It can be used not only for giving more depth in the crease, but also to highlight the inner corner – it works well even as a pencil brush, so I would recommend this one and not the 230 pencil brush described above.

Zoeva_231 Luxe Petit Crease

Zoeva 232 Classic Shader is, as its name says, a classic brush, which can be used to apply a sheer layer of eyeshadow all over the lid with the flat side, or a more intense color under the eye using the narrow side. You could also use it for highlighting the brow bone.

Zoeva_232 Classic Shader

Zoeva 234 Luxe Smoky Shader is my favorite of all the Zoeva brushes I purchased, it can really pack eyeshadow on the lid so you can get a more intense look. It also applies very well eyeshadow on the lower lash line with the narrow side if you want a smokey look. It is very similar to the MAC 239SE brush I got in a holiday set, but it is way softer and does not pull on the eye. However, I cannot compare it to the full size brush, as everybody knows that the MAC SE brushes are of a much lower quality than the standard ones.

Zoeva_234 Luxe Smoky Shader

General remarks:

  • the brushes have a handle that is relatively short, so if you dislike that in brushes, then you should consider other brands. I had no problems using them and I consider that the MAC SE eye brushes in holiday sets are too short, for example.
  • with the exception of the 230 Luxe Pencil brush, I haven’t had any problems with shedding. in case things change, I will update this post accordingly.
  • all bristles are very, very soft, which is impressive for the price tag of under EUR 7/brush.
  • the top of the handles has the Zoeva logo on one side and the slogan “COLOR. LOVE.MAKEUP” on the other side.

Zoeva_Handle 2Zoeva_Handle 1

Final thoughts:

I am very happy with my purchase! I have plenty of other eye brushes, but I enjoyed using them and some will get to be on my go-to brush list for everyday makeup. If I would choose my Top 3 then I would go for the 234 Luxe Smoky Shader, 226 Smudger and 227 Luxe Soft Definer.

Leave a Reply

